the people's representatives, is found in Canada. The Cabinet is actually a committee of the King's Privy Council for Canada. Without enlarging upon the features of the system, it may be sufficient to note that the Cabinet is responsible to the House of Commons, and, following established precedent, resigns office when it becomes evident that it no longer holds the confidence of the people's representatives. Members of the Cabinet are chosen by the Prime Minister; each of them generally assumes charge of one of the various departments of the government, although one Minister may hold two portfolios at the same time. while other members may be without portfolio. The present Ministry consists of 19 members. Three of them are without portfolio while four others, including the Prime Minister, are in charge of two or more departments.

The Prime Ministers since Confederation and their dates of office, together with the members of the present Ministry, are given in Table 2.

2.—Ministries since Confederation.

- 1. Rt. Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, Premier. From July 1, 1867 to Nov. 6, 1873.

- 2. Hon. Alexander Mackenzie, Premier. From Nov. 7, 1873 to Oct. 16, 1878.

 3. Rt. Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, Premier. From Oct. 17, 1878 to June 6, 1891.

 4. Hon. Sir John J. C. Abbott, Premier. From June 16, 1891 to Dec. 5, 1892.

 5. Hon. Sir John S. D. Thompson, Premier. From Dec. 5, 1892 to Dec. 12, 1894.
- 6. Hon. Sir Mackenzie Bowell, Premier. From Dec. 21, 1894 to April 27, 1896. 7. Hon. Sir Charles Tupper, Premier. From May 1, 1896 to July 8, 1896. 8. Rt. Hon. Sir Wilfrid Laurier, Premier. From July 11, 1896 to Oct. 6, 1911.
- 9. Rt. Hon. Sir Robert L. Borden, Premier. (Conservative Administration). From Oct. 10, 1911 to Oct. 12, 1917.
- 10. Rt. Hon. Sir Robert L. Borden, Premier. (Unionist Administration). From Oct. 12, 1917 to July 10. 1920.
- Rt. Hon. Arthur Meighen, Premier. (Unionist—"National Liberal and Conservative Party"). From July 10, 1920 to Dec. 29, 1921.
 Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King, Premier. From Dec. 29, 1921.

Note.—A complete list of the members of Dominion Ministries from Confederation to 1913 appeared in the Year Book of 1912, pp. 422-429. A list of the members of the Dominion Ministries from 1911 to 1921 appeared in the Year Book of 1920, pp. 651-653.

TWELFTH DOMINION MINISTRY. (According to precedence of the Ministers as at the formation of the Cabinet.)

Office.	Occupant.	Date of Appointment.	
Prime Minister, Secretary of State for External Affairs, President of the Privy Council	Right Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King	Dec.	29, 1921
Minister of Finance	Right Hon. William S. Fielding	Dec.	29, 1921
Minister of National Defence	Hon. George P. Graham Hon. Edward Macdonald ¹ Hon. Edward Macdonald	Anril	29, 1921 28, 1923 17, 1923
Postmaster General	Hon. Charles Murphy	Dec.	29, 1921
Minister without Portfolio	Hon. Raoul Dandurand	Dec.	29, 1921
Minister of Soldiers' Civil Re-Establish- ment and the Minister in charge of and to administer the Department of Health	Hon. Henri S. Béland	Dec.	29, 1921
Minister of Public Works	Hon. Hewitt Bostock Hon. James H. King	Dec. Feb.	29, 1921 3, 1922
Minister of Justice and Attorney General	Hon. Sir Lomer Gouin	Dec.	29, 1921
Minister of Customs and Excise	Hon. Jacques Bureau	Dec.	29, 1921
Minister of Marine and Fisheries	Hon. Ernest Lapointe	Dec.	29, 1921
Solicitor General	Hon. Daniel D. McKenzie	Dec. Sept.	29, 1921 12, 1923

Acting Minister.